13 things to make your house smell good

Don’t have time to do a really complete spring cleaning? Here are some tips to get your house smelling fresh – fast!

  1. bake bread — the house will smell delicious all day!
  2. simmer cinnamon sticks with apple slices, or orange peels in water on the stove
  3. burn scented candles
  4. Febreeze
  5. burn incense
  6. put out bowls with sponges that have vanilla extract on them
  7. open the windows and let the fresh air in
  8. sprinkle carpet deodorizer on your carpets, leave, then vacuum
  9. dried eucalyptus in arrangements smells great
  10. use plug-in fresheners in hidden locations
  11. spray your favorite perfume on an unlit lightbulb – the heat will warm up the scent and make the room smell great
  12. put out dishes of dried rosemary and lavender, or in sachets in closets or drawers
  13. use a product like Fridge-it to capture unwanted odors

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!

The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It’s easy, and fun! Be sure to update your Thirteen with links that are left for you, as well! I will link to everyone who participates and leaves a link to their 13 things. Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

30 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Courtney said,

    I’m addicted to Febreeze! We don’t even have a particularly stinky home, but I lurve the smell of it!

  2. 2

    Karen W said,

    I love the vanilla extract idea! I’ll have to try that sometime. Thanks!

  3. 3

    Jen said,

    As I am reading this list, we are having a snowstorm, lol. But I do know that spring is around the corner. Some of these I may need to try soon.

  4. 4

    Christina said,

    I really appreciate your list! I am going to try some of these ideas thanks!

  5. 5

    MamaDuck said,

    Mmmmm, those all sound great. I love the smell of fresh baked bread ;).

  6. 6

    Janet said,

    I have another, use a dropper to put some essential oil onto a cotton ball or pad and leave it in a decorative bowl…yum!

  7. 7

    Lisa said,

    OOH! Great ideas! I worry that my house smells like kitty cats (or their litter boxes).

    BTW, I really like what you write (scrolled down to read more entries) and you have some thought provoking posts. I shall be back to read (and comment) more.

    Have a great Thursday!

  8. 9

    Kim said,

    I love the perfume spray on the light bulb idea! Great list! Thanks for sharing! Happy TT!

  9. 10

    Wylie Kinson said,

    My mom used to sprinkle cinnamon on the stove burners right before expecting company. Ahhh… always made me hungry!

  10. 11

    Lisa said,

    I love having candles burning.

    Happy Thursday!

  11. 12

    L-Squared said,

    Febreeze and scented candles, that’s what I use when I’m in a hurry. Great list. Happy TT! :-)

  12. 13

    terrasears said,

    OH NO, Spring cleaning time again? What a great list, I love them all! (Plus if it is cold and you have a fireplace, burning orange peels is great too!)

    YUM

  13. 15

    Febreeze is a life saver. I have way too many pets and should but stock in the stuff for how much we go through. lol

  14. 16

    I loooove the smell of cinnamon. I spread vanilla on the liquid I use to clean up my kitchen table. It smells good, too, you know.

    Great list! Happy TT!

  15. 17

    mitchypoo said,

    Great tips! I’m cleaning this Saturday!

    My TT is up! Thirteen Embarrassing Moments for Mitchypoo! http://mitchypoo777.blogspot.com

  16. 18

    PJ said,

    I use incense or Febreeze. Very useful list – happy TT.

  17. 19

    jennifer said,

    Great tips. I don’t know what I did before Febreeze was invented.

  18. 20

    Presentstorm said,

    I have never heard of the vanilla in the sponge trick. I may hav eto try that. They are all great idea. I love simmering orange peels and cinnamon and I LOVE Febreeze.

    Great list and very helpful too.

    Happy TT :)

  19. 21

    Lynn said,

    I like your tips. Will do some of them – like bake bread. :)

  20. 22

    Damozel said,

    I’m with you on the Febreeze. I have to have it, since I have three cats in an apartment (and a hamster). I like the idea of the sponges in bowls, but the bread-baking will have to wait till another lifetime.

  21. 23

    Chelle said,

    I’ve never heard of Fridge-It before but I hate fridge odor with the heat of a million suns so I am going to find some if it kills me.

  22. 24

    Heather said,

    Some good ideas. :) You can also use candle warmers instead of burning the candles.

  23. 25

    chelsea said,

    I love the smell of fresh bread. Incense, eucalyptus and candles are what I use all the time.

    I prefer to not use chemical sprays and solids like febreeze, and plug ins.

    Sponges with essential oils. That is a good idea. Thanks.

  24. 26

    Nancy Bond said,

    Terrific list! I’ll try a few of these. :) Happy Easter.

  25. 27

    Sparky Duck said,

    Bake cookies! now I want bread and cookies

  26. 28

    scooper said,

    I’m going to try the perfume on a light bulb. Thanks for the tip.

  27. 29

    Great list! I use alot of those methods now.

  28. 30

    Nicholas said,

    I’m going to have to try that perfume on the lightbulb thing. Years ago, I used to live near a bakery and every morning while I waited for the bus to go to work the smell of fresh baked bread drifted over the street. It was deilghtful.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

