Thirteen 5th grade math terms

Are you smarter than a 5th Grader?

Here’s our version of the new TV game show, juiced up with math terms you should know if you got your middle-school diploma! First look at the words, then scroll down for the definitions and see if you got them right!

  1. congruent
  2. cardinal number
  3. scientific notation
  4. obtuse
  5. polyhedron
  6. heptagon
  7. scalene triangle
  8. stem and leaf plot
  9. addends
  10. divisor
  11. dividend
  12. unit rate
  13. prime factorization

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!

The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It’s easy, and fun! Be sure to update your Thirteen with links that are left for you, as well! I will link to everyone who participates and leaves a link to their 13 things. Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

How well did you do?

  1. congruent: Figures or angles that have the same size and shape.
  2. cardinal number: one, two, three, etc.
  3. scientific notation: a very convenient way to write large or small numbers and do calculations with them. It also quickly conveys two properties of a measurement that are useful to scientists—significant figures and order of magnitude.
  4. obtuse: Any angle that measures between 90º and 180º.
  5. polyhedron: A three-dimensional solid that is bounded by plane polygons.
  6. heptagon: a polygon having seven angles and seven sides.
  7. scalene triangle: a triangle with no two sides of equal length
  8. stem and leaf plot: In a stem-and-leaf plot each data value is split into a “stem” and a “leaf”. The “leaf” is usually the last digit of the number and the other digits to the left of the “leaf” form the “stem”. The number 123 would be split as: stem = 12 / leaf = 3
  9. addends: Any of a set of numbers to be added.
  10. divisor: a number by which another number, the dividend, is divided.
  11. dividend: a number that is to be divided by a divisor.
  12. unit rate: A unit rate describes how many units of the first type of quantity corresponds to one unit of the second type of quantity. Common unit rates are miles (or kilometers) per hour, cost per item, earnings per week, etc. In each case the first quantity is related to 1 unit of the second quantity.
  13. prime factorization: Calculation of all prime factors in a number.
    Example:The prime factors of 84 are 7 x 3 x 2 x 2.
10 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Coco said,

    oh, I suck in math… 😦
    only got 3 or 4 right… hahah.
    thanks for the extra dose of knowledge! happy TT!

  2. 2

    Selena Kitt said,

    Also suck at math… I got all the geometry ones, though, for the most part…

  3. 3

    Janet said,

    um…they didn’t have modern math when i was in school ;-0

  4. 4

    Raggedy said,

    It is beyond my fingers and toes.
    Terrific Thursday Thirteen!
    My TT is posted.
    Have a wonderful day!
    Happy TT’ing!
    *^_^
    (=’:’=)
    (“)_ (“)Š
    Raggedy

  5. 5

    Amy said,

    I was really good at math and I don’t remember all of these… but some I do!! I guess that is good. Some don’t even sound familiar! (doh)

  6. 6

    terrasears said,

    YAH!!! Yours made me feel smart 🙂

    Thanks for that…

  7. 7

    Barb said,

    Well, I made it through HS without most of those terms.We didn’t have all those maths they have today back when I went to school, especially not in 6th grade! AND, I was a good math student back then.

    Check out my TT

  8. 8

    I didn’t even try. As long as 2+2=4, I’m fine.

  9. 9

    Starla said,

    Well, I got 1, 4, 5, 7, 10, 11, 12, & 13. Gosh, I hate math. Thankfully I’m done with it for now…

  10. 10

    L-Squared said,

    All of these are very familiar to me, except maybe stem and leaf plot, but I’ve I’ve had my fill of math earning the two phsyics degrees that I don’t really use.
    Happy TT.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

